Save the Dates: 2018 Outings

Save the Dates: Warm Season Outings & 2018 Annual Meeting

Carl Sorenson.JPG

Mark your calendar and watch for details as the dates approach.

BCA outings promise good clean outdoor fun with an educational and current issue bent.

Join us!  You’ll be glad you did!

Work Day in Celebration of Earth Day

Saturday, April 21, 2018

1 pm CT / 12 noon MT

Help Theodore Roosevelt National Park do spring clean-up at Cottonwood Campground in the South Unit.  No better way to celebrate Earth Day than to give back to our National Park!

National Trails Day

Saturday, June 2, 2018

12 noon CT / 11 am MT

Late morning into afternoon.

A leisurely hike to the Needles Eye in the South Unit of Theodore Roosevelt National Park will be led by board member Tama Smith.

pasque flower 1.JPG

The group site in Cottonwood Campground has been reserved for Saturday night.  With a site limit of 20 people, save your spot by rsvp-ing early to Jan at bcajan@bis.midco.net.  Overflow will be responsible for their own accommodations.

BCA has invited members of Friends of Theodore Roosevelt National Park to join us.

The Park and Theodore Roosevelt Nature and History Association annual Bird Walk (and breakfast) is scheduled for Sunday morning and you are encouraged to participate.  Further info will follow.

Autumn Weekend in the Badlands

Saturday and Sunday, September 22 and 23, 2018

Boicourt into the Bowl

Saturday, September 22, 2018

1 pm CT / 12 noon MT

Meet at Cottonwood Picnic Area to carpool to the Boicourt Trailhead where we will go “off-trail” south into the interior of the South Unit’s scenic loop drive.  Hiking will be rigorous at times when descending or upon return, but the intent is to explore to our heart’s content with no specific timeline or required miles.  A BCA hike at its best!

Long X Divide Adventure  

Boicourt.jpeg

Sunday, September 23, 2018

11 am CT / 10 am MT

Meet-up on Sunday in the parking lot at the North Unit of Theodore Roosevelt National Park visitor center to carpool/caravan to the Long X Divide roadless area south across the Little Missouri River from the Park.  It is one of the four areas on the Little Missouri National Grassland managed by the US Forest Service as Suitable for Wilderness and is part of BCA’s Prairie Legacy Wilderness proposal.

Entering from the south side, hiking will be less rigorous, but we will want to cover some country so that participants get a feel for the size and issues, both current and ongoing.

BCA’s weekend event is scheduled to follow the annual Theodore Roosevelt Symposium held at Dickinson State University.  The Symposium begins on Thursday evening and concludes on Saturday.

2018 BCA Annual Meeting

Saturday, October 13, 2018

1 pm CT / 12 noon MT

Bismarck, ND

Location will be announced.