Back to All Events

Autumn Weekend in the Badlands


Saturday and Sunday, September 22 and 23, 2018

Boicourt into the Bowl

Saturday, September 22, 2018

1 pm CT / 12 noon MT

Meet at Cottonwood Picnic Area to carpool to the Boicourt Trailhead where we will go “off-trail” south into the interior of the South Unit’s scenic loop drive.  Hiking will be rigorous at times when descending or upon return, but the intent is to explore to our heart’s content with no specific timeline or required miles.  A BCA hike at its best!

Long X Divide Adventure  

Sunday, September 23, 2018

11 am CT / 10 am MT

Meet-up on Sunday in the parking lot at the North Unit of Theodore Roosevelt National Park visitor center to carpool/caravan to the Long X Divide roadless area south across the Little Missouri River from the Park.  It is one of the four areas on the Little Missouri National Grassland managed by the US Forest Service as Suitable for Wilderness and is part of BCA’s Prairie Legacy Wilderness proposal.

Entering from the south side, hiking will be less rigorous, but we will want to cover some country so that participants get a feel for the size and issues, both current and ongoing.

BCA’s weekend event is scheduled to follow the annual Theodore Roosevelt Symposium held at Dickinson State University.  The Symposium begins on Thursday evening and concludes on Saturday.

Earlier Event: June 2
National Trails Day
Later Event: October 13
2018 BCA Annual Meeting